Cross Stitch Patterns from Fine Art by Scarlet Quince
 Cart 
 Wish list
     |     
     |     
Check out
     |     
     |     
Wholesale log in
Member services
Scarlet Quince
Solutions
Forums

Floor Stands


Page 3 of 3
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

Author Topic
BarBaraPrz
Member
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 420
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
    Reply with quote  
 
 
5:19 pm Mar 03, 2009

I ordered the Stitchmaster on Friday (Feb 27) and it arrived this morning (Tues March 3)... 4 days from Stroud, U.K. to Hamilton, Ontario Canada! Not bad!
I put it together and it's perfect! It's solid hardwood, well finished and sturdy. Even the wingnuts are heavy gauge. It works with any style of frame, scroll or hoop, because the frame just rests on the two arms: it is not held by any kind of clamp. Which makes it very easy to flip to work on the back. They even supplied a "tightener"... a finished block of wood that fits over the wingnuts and makes it ever so easy to tighten them. I love it! Exclamation
Alanna
Member
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 633
Location: Brisbane, Australia
    Reply with quote  
 
 
5:46 pm Mar 03, 2009

I'm so glad you finally found the one for you, Barbara!! Very Happy
BarBaraPrz
Member
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 420
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
    Reply with quote  
 
 
6:02 pm Mar 03, 2009

quote:
Originally posted by Alanna
I'm so glad you finally found the one for you, Barbara!! Very Happy

Thank you. Smile
Katie
Member
Joined: 14 May 2008
Posts: 26
Location: Pahrump, NV
    Reply with quote  
 
 
2:31 am Mar 04, 2009

Well, ladies, you have sold me on the stitchmaster. I just wonder if the light will work here. mmmmmmm
BarBaraPrz
Member
Joined: 16 Apr 2004
Posts: 420
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
    Reply with quote  
 
 
8:47 am Mar 04, 2009

quote:
Originally posted by Katie
Well, ladies, you have sold me on the stitchmaster. I just wonder if the light will work here. mmmmmmm

That's why I didn't order it. But after, I thought I could always rewire it...

Last edited by BarBaraPrz on 8:53 am Mar 05, 2009; edited 1 time in total
Alanna
Member
Joined: 27 Aug 2006
Posts: 633
Location: Brisbane, Australia
    Reply with quote  
 
 
7:19 pm Mar 04, 2009

quote:
Originally posted by BarBaraPrz
That's why I didn't order it. But after, I thought I could always rewire it... basically just change the plug.


I made that mistake when ordering something from the US for my mother-in-law: we couldn't use the lamp here without this massive transformer thingy because the voltage was all incorrect, so it was much more complicated than just changing the plug, and of course the result is that she never uses it!! A big waste of money. Sad
rifestitch
Member
Joined: 16 May 2005
Posts: 639
Location: North of Atlanta
    Reply with quote  
 
 
8:08 pm Mar 04, 2009

quote:
Originally posted by BarBaraPrz

That's why I didn't order it. But after, I thought I could always rewire it... basically just change the plug.


No, it's not just changing the plug - we in N. America run on 110, and the majority of Europe(and other parts of the world) runs 220, with different plugs by region. So if you bought a UK light and swapped the plug, you wouldn't have enough juice to power it; conversely, you take a NA light to the UK and plug it in with new plug, the 220 will likely blow it up - the bulb, at least,and if it contains any fuses, those would go, too Smile

But you can get a transformer to swap back & forth - but they are kinda hard to make "blend in" with the decor.

You might ask the makers of the light if they have one wired for 110 - that is a huge segment of the buying population Smile
  Display posts from past:      

Page 3 of 3
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
 


Privacy policy | Site map | Member services | | Help
Copyright © 2002-2017 Scarlet Quince™. All rights reserved.